To Top

Janelle Monáe Shuts Down The Red Carpet At The CFDA Fashion Awards

There were no real surprises when the CFDA Fashion Awards were presented on Monday.

The ceremony took place at New York’s Alice Tully Hall.

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen captured the flag by earning Womenswear Designer of the Year honors for their The Row line.

Beyond that semi-stunner, the list of award winners were all names that have cemented themselves as the best at what they currently do.

Post-event chatter stated that the evening’s award presenters and attendees provided the evening with their true highlights.

It was certainly appropriate that attention –starved multimedia icon Kim Kardashian West presented Instagram with the Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard.

Actress Taraji P. Henson (Empire) was another presenter of note.

Singer/model Janelle Monáe won the battle of the red carpet in a regal Tadashi Shoji hybrid piece that was accented by the creative use of a short cape.

The remaining list of award winners is below.

Menswear Designer of the Year: Tom Ford

Accessories Designer of the Year: Tabitha Simmons

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Rosie Assoulin

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Shayne Oliver (Hood by Air)

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Millard “Mickey” Drexler, (J.Crew Group)

International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli (Valentino)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Apparel