To Top

Frank Zappa Returns To Screen With ‘Roxy: The Movie’

Forty-two years since Frank Zappa’s legendary three-night performance at the Roxy Theatre in Hollywood, Calif., and the official trailer for Roxy: The Movie, has surfaced.

According to online video retailer, the film will be available on DVD and Blu-Ray on Oct. 30, 2015.

The film was recorded during the Dec. 8 – 10 performance of Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, which formed the basis of their live album ‘Roxy and Elsewhere.’

“However the performances were also filmed in 16mm and this footage has been sitting in the Zappa vault ever since,” the synopsis reads. “Now, fully restored by the Zappa Family Trust this live concert film is being made available for the first time.”

Although bits and pieces of the movie have surfaced in the years after Zappa’s death, this will be the first full-length (116 min. running time) motion picture of the legendary performances.

The movie features such Zappa hits as “Cosmik Debris,” Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow,” and “Father O’Blivion.” It also comes with a CD from their three-night performance at the Roxy and special DVD Bonus features.

ERBRD5257_500DVD Track List:

  1. Cosmik Debris
  2. Medley: Penguin In Bondage / T’Mershi Duween / The Dog Breath Variations / Uncle Meat / RDNZL
  3. Inca Roads
  4. Medley: Echidna’s Arf (Of You) / Don’t You Ever Wash That Thing / Cheepnis – Percussion
  5. Cheepnis
  6. Medley: I’m The Slime / Big Swifty
  7. Be-Bop Tango (Of The Old Jazzman’s Church)
  8. Don’t Eat The Yellow Snow
  9. Father O’Blivion

DVD Bonus tracks: (1) Medley: Pygmy Twylyte / The Idiot Bastard Son (2) Dickies’s Such An Asshole

To find out more about the movie visit or to pre-order a copy today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio