To Top

DC Comics Announces Rebirth Creative Teams at WonderCon

After months of speculation, including cryptic Tweets and an announced lineup that provided no details on creative teams, DC Comics announced nearly all the details of its upcoming Rebirth initiative at this past weekend’s WonderCon. The company confirmed that the branding will not led to a full reboot of their ongoing universe, instead the goal for Rebirth is to start “bringing back everything that’s wonderful about these characters,” according to DC COO Geoff Johns.

As previously announced, Rebirth will begin in May with an 80-page one-shot written by Johns. Speaking of the issue at WonderCon, Johns teased a possible character death and the reveal of the DC Universe’s greatest secret. DC then officially relaunches in June, with each title getting a dedicated Rebirth Special before transitioning to newly launched #1’s except for Action Comics and Detective Comics, each of which will be returning to their previous New 52 numbering.

While Rebirth was expressly confirmed as not being a reboot, DC is taking full advantage full advantage of the relaunch by altering creative teams and direction on nearly every title in their stable, with only Earth 2, Gotham Academy and Harley Quinn staying relatively unchanged. The Batman family of titles is being radically revamped. Tom King is taking over as writer of the Batman title, with David Finch on art, while James Tynion IV is taking a new team-book approach to Detective Comics. Scott Snyder, the chief architect of the Bat-universe since the New 52 began, is taking on the newly created All-Star Batman title where he and a rotating staff of A-List artists will tell stories revolving around the Caped-Crusaders villains.

Batman’s recent cinematic co-star, Superman, is also getting a full-creative revamp, though with a familiar name. Dan Jurgens, the creative force behind numerous 90’s stories including the famous Death of Superman arc, is taking over writing duties on Action Comics. Meanwhile, Peter J. Tomasi and Patrick Gleason are teaming up once again to take on Superman. Former Superman writer Gene Luen Yang and artist Viktor Bogdonavic are introducing a unique take on the myth with the title New Superman, which stars a Chinese man gifted with Superman’s powers. The Man of Steel isn’t the only character to see a creator returning, as the company announced that Greg Rucka is returning to Wonder Woman for the first time since his celebrated run with the character ended about a decade ago.

The full list of Rebirth titles and announced creative teams are;

  • Batman by Tom King and David Finch
  • Detective Comics by James Tynion IV and Eddy Barrows
  • Nightwing by Tim Seeley and Javi Hernandez
  • Batgirl by Hope Larson and Rafael Albuquerque
  • Birds of Prey by Julie and Shawna Benson, and Claire Row
  • All-Star Batman Scott Snyder, John Romita Jr., Sean Murphy, and Jock
  • Action Comics by Dan Jurgens, Patrick Zircher, Tyler Kirkham, and Stephen Segovia
  • New Super Man by Gene Luen Yang and Viktor Bogdonavic
  • Supergirl by Steve Orlando and Brian Ching
  • Wonder Woman — Greg Rucka, Liam Sharp, and Nicola Scott 
  • Trinity by Francis Manupul and Clay Mann
  • Superwoman by Phil Jimenez
  • Superman by Peter Tomasi, Patrick Gleason, Doug Mahnke
  • Justice League by  Tony Daniel
  • The Flash  by Joshua Williamson, Carmine Di Giandomenico, Neil Googe
  • Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps by Robert Venditti, Ethan Van Sciver, and Rafa Sandoval
  • Green Lanterns by Sam Humphries, Robson Rocha, and Ardian Syaf
  • Cyborg by John Semper, Paul Pelletier, and Will Conrad
  • Aquaman by Dan Abnett, Brad Walker, Jesus Merino, and Phil Briones
  • Titans by Dan Abnett and Brent Booth
  • Suicide Squad — Philip Tan, Rob Williams, and Jim Lee
  • Harley Quinn by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Chad Hardin, and John Timms
  • Green Arrow by Ben Percy, Otto Schmidt, and Juan Ferreyra
  • Hellblazer by Simon Oliver and Moritat
  • Red Hood and the Outlaws by Scott Lobdell and Dexter Soy
  • Deathstroke by Christopher Priest, Carlo Pagulayan, Igor Vitorino, and Felipe Watanabe
  • Batman Beyond by Dan Jurgens and Bernard Chang
  • Blue Beetle by Keith Giffen and Scott Kolins
  • Teen Titans by Ben Percy, Jonboy Meyers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Comics/Animation