To Top

M.I.A. Curates Meltdown 2017

Alternative pop princess M.I.A. built one hell of a lineup for the 2017 edition of London’s Meltdown festival.

The shows run from June 9-18 at the Southbank Centre.

According to the venue, the young lady is stating that her ambitions are grand.

“I’m bringing together new outlaw musicians from everywhere, who have contributed to keeping things weird, exciting, opinionated, loud, emotional and brave or off the grid in the present climate,” the award-winning artist stated.

Young M.A, Young Fathers, Yung Lean, Tommy Genesis, JD Samson, Afrikan Boy, MHD, Mr Eazi, I Wayne, Dexta Daps, Soulwax, Princess Nokia, Father, Giggs, Fakear, Crystal Castles and Mykki Blanco are featured performers.

While only a handful of these names are recognizable to domestic fans, their music/art is indeed powerful and worth checking out.

Other entertainment includes “hip-hop karaoke,” a Rinse FM block party and a series of free events in honor of Refugee Week.

M.I.A. has never been one to shy away from embracing the joy of creativity. In fact she often marries politics with self-expression to showcase where her head is at.

In a press statement released in February, she made her intentions known.

“For me this Meltdown will be about putting on a musical week that shows different types of music which have inspired each other to exist,” she said in the statement.

“Genres that support other genres, redefining the concept of a melting pot. Respect the history, don’t live in it. I plan to bring together music’s best forward thinkers who have contributed to all our lives. When music acts as inspiration, it’s boundary-less.”

The Meltdown Festival has a long history of curators that have taken their artistic sensibilities and crafted phenomenal experiences.

Elbow’s Guy Garvey, ex-Pulp star Jarvis Cocker, Yoko Ono, David Byrne, Massive Attack, Morrissey and Anohni  are a few of the previous curators that have put their vision on display.

Stream: M.I.A. Meltdown Festival Playlist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio