To Top

Soul Singer Usher Accused of Transmitting Herpes

New lawsuit filed by two women and a man

An Usher fan recently announced that she plans to sue the R&B singer for allegedly exposing her to genital herpes.

Quantasia Sharpton said she was selected out of a crowd during one of his concerts, after which he had gotten her number, went to her hotel and had sex with her without disclosing he allegedly has genital herpes.

Sharpton, 21, who is being represented by celebrity lawyer, Lisa Bloom, said during a press conference at the New York Hilton Midtown, on Monday morning, that she was at a concert, celebrating her 19th birthday when she was contacted by Usher’s security.

Based on her test results, Sharpton says she came up negative for herpes, but still feels violated due to reports that the “Confessions” singer might have transmitted herpes simplex two.

The lawsuit comes following published court documents which, implicate that the former judge of NBC’s The Voice was allegedly carrying the STD in 2009 – 2010. Usher allegedly paid out $1.1 million in 2012, according to People Magazine, in order to settle a case with a celebrity stylist, who had accused him of “consciously and purposefully” withholding his diagnosis.

Bloom told TMZ that the most recent lawsuit is being filed on behalf of two women and a man, all of who claim they have had sexual contact with Usher since his alleged diagnosis and, one of whom, she says, has tested positive for herpes.

The two other accusers named in the complaint have been identified as “John Doe” and “Jane Doe” respectively, to ensure their privacy. Bloom also says that she has been contacted by other potential clients and may file additional lawsuits in the future.

The lawsuit does not specify the amount of damages but seeks “punitives” as well as a court order, which would force Usher to reveal any alleged STD to future sex partners.

As of press time, Usher’s health status is still unconfirmed. No comment has been made by the singer’s representatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio