To Top

NFL Pro Bowl Alternates: Full List of Replacements

The players skip out on it too.

Will you be watching the Pro Bowl this Sunday? Hey, it’s a thing that’s happening.

Anyway, each year sees a large number of players pull out of the Pro Bowl, mostly due to injury (or more accurately, to avoid injury). Last year saw 37 alternates named as replacement players, and while this year isn’t quite as large, it still climbed all the way up to 35.

All players selected from the New England Patriots and Philadelphia Eagles will not be eligible to play since they’ll be playing in the Super Bowl next Sunday. Every other player who was replaced has bowed out due to injury. The two long snappers were named by the staffs who will be coaching in Orlando. Click here for the initial rosters.


Alex Smith, QB, Chiefs (replaces Philip Rivers, Chargers)

Derek Carr, QB, Raiders (replaces Tom Brady, Patriots)

Roosevelt Nix, FB, Steelers (replaces James Develin, Patriots)

Jarvis Landry, WR, Dolphins (replaces DeAndre Hopkins, Texans)

T.Y. Hilton, WR, Colts (replaces Keenan Allen, Chargers)

Delanie Walker, TE, Titans (replaces Travis Kelce, Chiefs)

Jack Doyle, TE, Colts (replaces Rob Gronkowski, Patriots)

Russell Okung, T, Chargers (replaces Donald Penn, Raiders)

Melvin Ingram, DE, Chargers (replaces Joey Bosa, Chargers)

Cameron Heyward, DE, Steelers (replaces Khalil Mack, Raiders)

Yannick Ngakoue, DE, Jaguars (replaces Calais Campbell, Jaguars)

Telvin Smith, OLB, Jaguars (replaces Jadeveon Clowney, Texans)

Joe Schobert, MLB, Browns (replaces Ryan Shazier, Steelers)

Kevin Byard, S, Titans (replaces Micah Hyde, Bills)

Brynden Trawick, ST, Titans (replaces Matthew Slater, Patriots)

Clark Harris, LS, Bengals (named by coaching staff)


Jared Goff, QB, Rams (replaces Carson Wentz, Eagles)

Doug Baldwin, WR, Seahawks (replaces Julio Jones, Falcons)

Davante Adams, WR, Packers (replaces Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals)

Jason Witten, TE, Cowboys (replaces Zach Ertz, Eagles)

Kyle Rudolph, TE, Vikings (replaces Jimmy Graham, Seahawks)

Andrew Whitworth, T, Rams (replaces Trent Williams, Redskins)

Joe Staley, T, 49ers (replaces Tyron Smith, Cowboys)

Duane Brown, T, Seahawks (replaces Lane Johnson, Eagles)

Trai Turner, G, Panthers (replaces Zack Martin, Cowboys)

T.J. Lang, G, Lions (replaces Brandon Scherff, Redskins)

Larry Warford, G, Saints (replaces Brandon Brooks, Eagles)

Mike Daniels, DT, Packers (replaces Aaron Donald, Rams)

Linval Joseph, DT, Vikings (replaces Fletcher Cox, Eagles)

Michael Bennett, DE, Seahawks (replaces Everson Griffen, Vikings)

Deion Jones, MLB, Falcons (replaces Luke Kuechly, Panthers)

Kwon Alexander, MLB, Buccaneers (replaces Bobby Wagner, Seahawks)

Thomas Davis, OLB, Panthers (replaces Anthony Barr, Vikings)

Harrison Smith, S, Vikings (replaces Landon Collins, Giants)

Keanu Neal, S, Falcons (replaces Malcolm Jenkins, Eagles)

Graham Gano, K, Panthers (replaces Greg Zuerlein, Rams)

Jake McQuaide, LS, Rams (named by coaching staff)

In spite of all the new players entering the fold, the New York Jets and Chicago Bears still have no representatives. Every other team has at least one. The Pittsburgh Steelers remain at the top with 10 selectees (including players who had to withdraw due to injury).

Of the replacements added to the roster, Kevin Byard, Cameron Heyward, Harrison Smith and Andrew Whitworth all made the All-Pro team. The Pro Bowl will go down at 3:30 p.m. EST this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports