To Top

2017 NFL Honors Wrap Up: Brady Wins MVP, Moss and Owens to HOF

Awards, awards, awards.

With most of the team based awards for 2017 being released already, the NFL announced the individual performance awards during the seventh annual NFL Honors show today. Here are the main awards that were handed out.

AP MVP: Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots

Who else but Brady? He has the Patriots back in the Super Bowl again, and it’s not surprising in the slightest. Brady led the league in passing yardage with 4,577, also finishing third in passing touchdowns and passer rating. He’s the oldest player to ever be named MVP, and it’s the third of his career.

AP Coach of the Year: Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams

In his first season as head coach, the 32-year-old McVay led a resurgence for the Rams, as they finished the year with a record of 11-5 and went to the playoffs for the first time since 2004. Both the passing and rushing offenses for the team were in the top 10 for the league as a whole. The sky’s the limit for McVay.

AP Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Gurley, RB, Los Angeles Rams

Gurley didn’t quite lead the league in rushing yards, but he still had his best season as a pro. He was second with 1,305 rushing yards and was first in rushing touchdowns with 13. Gurley also led his team in receiving with 64 catches for 788 yards and 6 more TDs. He might be the best all-purpose weapon on offense in the NFL.

AP Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald, DT, Los Angeles Rams

The Rams are getting awards left and right! Donald was near unstoppable in 2017, despite transitioning into a new defense. He had 11 sacks, which led all defensive tackles. Pro Football Focus gave him a grade of 99.7, the best of any player in the league. Donald is turning 27 years old in May and still has years of stellar football left in him.

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Alvin Kamara, RB, New Orleans Saints

It was going to be a dogfight between Kamara and Kansas City Chiefs running back Kareem Hunt for this award. Hunt led the league in rushing, but Kamara was the better weapon, gaining 728 yards and averaging 6.1 yards per rush, a league best. He also led all running backs in receiving stats with 81 catches for 826 yards, also scoring 13 total touchdowns.

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Marshon Lattimore, CB, New Orleans Saints

And the Saints get both rookie awards. Tre’Davious White of the Buffalo Bills could’ve challenged as well, but Lattimore got the nod. The two tied for the rookie lead in pass breakups with 18. However, Lattimore led all rookies with 5 interceptions.

AP Comeback Player of the Year: Keenan Allen, WR, Los Angeles Chargers

Allen went through three straight seasons ended by injury, the worst coming last year when he tore his right ACL. But he returned better than ever, ranking third in the league in receiving yards with 1,393 and fourth in catches with 102. Best of all, he played in all 16 games for the first time in his career. Hopefully, Allen can continue that streak.

Walter Payton Man of the Year: J.J. Watt, DE, Houston Texans

While Watt missed most of 2017 due to injury, he was quite busy off the field, raising over $37 million in donation money during the aftermath of Hurrican Harvey in order to help relief efforts and people affected by the storm.

2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductees: Brian Dawkins, S; Ray Lewis, LB; Randy Moss, WR; Terrell Owens, WR; Brian Urlacher, LB

Senior committee: Robert Brazile, LB; Jerry Kramer, G

Contributor committee: Bobby Beathard, GM

Two of the best receivers to ever play the game get into the HOF during the same year. Owens and Moss rank 2nd and 4th respectively on the all-time receiving list. Likewise, Lewis and Urlacher, two of the greatest linebackers, also enter the HOF together. Dawkins, perhaps the best safety of the 2000’s, will be honored as well.

The senior committee added Kramer, a longtime guard for the Green Bay Packers during their 1960’s dynasty, and Brazile, who played with the Houston Oilers for nine seasons in the 70’s and 80’s. Beathard, a general manager for 22 years with the Washington Redskins and San Diego Chargers, was also selected by way of the contributor committee.


Here are the rest of the awards that were given out during the ceremony.

Pepsi NEXT Rookie of the Year (fan voted): Alvin Kamara, RB, New Orleans Saints

AP Assistant Coach of the Year: Pat Shurmur, offensive coordinator, Minnesota Vikings

Deacon Jones Award (season sack leader): Chandler Jones, OLB, Arizona Cardinals

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: Luke Kuechly, LB, Carolina Panthers

FedEx Air Player of the Year (fan voted): Carson Wentz, QB, Philadelphia Eagles

FedEx Ground Player of the Year (fan voted): Todd Gurley, RB, Los Angeles Rams

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year: The Minnesota Miracle

Greatness on the Road Award: Deshaun Watson, QB, Houston Texans

USAA Salute to Service Award: Andre Roberts, WR, Atlanta Falcons

Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year: Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans Saints

Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year: Philadelphia Eagles

Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year: Robert Garrett, Crenshaw High School, Los Angeles, California

Secret Game Changer Award: Sam Gordon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports