To Top

First Look: Netflix Docu-Series The Defiant Ones

The journey of legends

Netflix presents the story of Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine, the levitator and the innovator.

From humble beginnings to climbing to the top of the music business, Netflix’s The Defiant Ones tells twos stories of two very different men, who ended up coming together and changing the way we perceive music. This is a story of the Defiant Ones, a dual narrative of music pioneers Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine.

This four-part docu-series originally aired on HBO in 2017. The documentary series is directed by Allen Hughes (Menace to Society, Dead Presidents) with appearances from music superstars such as Gwen Stefani, Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Bono, Kendrick Lamar and more. Now the story is set to premiere on the Netflix streaming service. Here is a synopsis of the documentary series The Defiant Ones.

“The Defiant Ones” examines the partnership between Jimmy Iovine and Dr. Dre – one the son of a Brooklyn longshoreman, the other straight out of Compton – and their leading roles in a chain of transformative events in contemporary culture.

The trailer begins with an average day in the life of mega-producer Dr. Dre. In the studio. Switches flipping on the board fast and furious as later on in the day he and close friend Jimmy Iovine collaborate over what Dr. Dre had crafted that day. Rapper superstar Eminem explains how Jimmy is the levitator while Dre was the innovator. Dre was seriously working in the studio like a madman to find that next beat with Jimmy producing. From modest beginnings came innovations but also early missteps. Until Jimmy and Dre came together to create an empire no one saw coming. From Gangster rap to magazine covers to discovering new talent and finally the selling of the Beats headphones. This is the story of Dr. Dre and Jimmy Iovine. The Defiant Ones who changed the world.

The Defiant One hits the program queue March 2018.

Watch The Defiant Ones Trailer

 Keep In Touch with Salute TV News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio