To Top

Listen: Trae Tha Truth & Young Thug pays respect to Houston in ‘Don’t Know Me’

Honoring his city through latest album.

Trae Tha Truth tells a story of struggle and survival in his latest single “Don’t Know Me.”

Houston bred rapper Trae Tha Truth is ready to drop his forthcoming album Hometown Hero with just two days to spare (March 16).

Shortly after unveiling the complete track-list for the latest record in the works, Trae linked up with Young Thug to drop a newly-released banger “Don’t Know Me,” which follows his debut track “What About Us,” off the newest album.

Staying busy stirring up more side projects, the 37-year-old is currently focusing all his attention on getting down to the nitty-gritty on what Hometown Hero is all about.

In brief detail, the album as a whole focuses on the unexpected damage that Hurricane Harvey inflicted on areas that left Houston, Texas in ruins.

While that is a prominent fact in the lyrics and visuals for “What About Us,” the second single out “Don’t Know Me,” is a more intimate and passionate tune that makes his feelings over the horrid situation that much more authentic.

The album not only brings awareness to the devastating floods that took over the streets of Houston, but it also tells Trae’s aka ‘King Truth’s’ own personal story of being rescued and evacuated from his Houston home during the ranging storm.

Not one to walk away in fear despite of the tragic events, Trae has been making an effort to help fellow victims get back on their feet again, in a variety of ways.

Becoming an active advocate for his city, Trae has been volunteering, donating to fund the cause, and even linked up with the local fire department and rescue volunteers to help those affected find shelter.

In speaking up about the tragedy of Hurricane Harvey shortly after its aftermath Trae said:

“I’m at a loss for words….I felt helpless yesterday when I had to be rescued, so I know that feeling.”

While the album revolves around helping the cause, it also features an abundance of guest appearances by T.I., Mozzy, Boosie Badazz and more, making it a hip-hop cornucopia filled with goodness.

After collaborating alongside Young Thug on the latest cut Trae said the following in a press statement:

“I felt that we could get in our zone and it’s a different type of record than what people would expect us to do together.”

Hometown Hero will be available everywhere Friday.

Hometown Hero tracklist:

  1. What About Us
  2. Don’t Know Me (ft. Young Thug)
  3. I’ll Be Fine
  4. No Pressure (ft. Mozzy)
  5. Dayz I Prayed (ft. Ink)
  6. I Got It On Me
  7. I Can’t (ft. Lil Boosie & RaRa)
  8. No Question (ft. Kim)
  9. Shooter (ft. Money Man)
  10. Better Dayz (ft. T.I. & RaRa)
  11. Ain’t Nuthin Better
  12. I’m Still Around

Keep up with music at Salute.

Listen: Trae Tha Truth Ft. Young Thug Don’t Know Me


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio