To Top

Sounding OFF: Spring is the Season for New Music

10 tracks for spring

It’s starting to feel more and more like spring… the sun is staying out later, birds are starting to fly back north, and allergies are already starting to run amok. Inspired by the season, electronic DJ/producer Bassnectar recently shared a thought-provoking statement from actor/comedian Duncan Trussell about some of the reasons why “spring is the greatest metaphor.” The inspirational message was posted to Facebook following his recent two-night performance in Chicago. The video has more than 195,000 views, as of press time.

“It’s that place in your life where you’ve been depressed. Where you’ve been trapped. Where you’ve been stuck. Where you’ve been uninspired. Where you’ve been heartbroken. Where everything seems hopeless… and suddenly! This glimmer of light springs up, inside of you. You’ve gotta remember what I’m talking about. It’s so easy to forget when you’re wandering through the bleak darkness. When you’re lost. When you’re confused. When you’re uninspired. When you’re lonely. It’s so easy to forget that nothing lasts, including those bleak states.”

Trussell refers to the season as a form of “rebirth” and it certainly appears, judging by all the amazing new music, spring has finally sprung. That’s why this week, #SoundingOFF has put together a playlist featuring 10 interesting and original new songs to put you in the spirit of the season.

#1) Soft as Snow – “Drip” 

With all the snow melting and since the Norwegian synth duo’s full-length debut album was recently released, this track felt like the perfect way to send off the winter weather. Soft as Snow consists of Oda Egjar Starheim and Øystein Monsen, who first began working together in 2014. Since then they have released two EPs and remix album while honing their experimental pop sound. Their debut album, Deep Wave, features a number of impressive tracks and is available now from Houndstooth Records, an artist-led record label operated by the London nightclub Fabric.

#2) Save Face – “Bad” 

The New Jersey rock band are the latest addition to the Epitaph Records roster and it’s easy to understand why. Their new single, “Bad,” is a power packed pop-punk track that is definitely worth the listen.

#3) Jean Grae + Quelle Chris – “Scoop of Dirt” feat. Your Ol Droog

I can’t say enough amazing things about this collaboration from Jean Grae and Quelle Chris who team up with comedians Nick Offerman, Hannibal Burress, John Hodgman, Michael Che and more to help create this hilarious new concept album that is a must for any real hip-hop fanatics.

#4) M.E.D. + Guilty Simpson – “Life’s Good” 

Detroit rapper Guilty Simpson, who was a favorite of the late James “J Dilla” Yancey teams up with Madlib’s protege, California rapper Nick Rodriguez, better known as M.E.D., on their new collaboration album, Loyalty, featuring six brand new tracks as well as two instrumentals and two acapella tracks.

#5) Rich the Kid feat. Khalid – “Too Gone” 

“Too Gone” is quite possibly one of the hottest tracks from Rich The Kid’s major label debut, The World Is Yours, the R&B infused trap song produced by WondaGirl.

#6) Poo Bear – “Hard to Face Reality” feat. Jay Electronica and Justin Bieber

A strange combination, but Poo Bear manages to pull it off with this harmonic new single.

#7) The Weeknd – “I Was Never There” feat. Gesaffelstein

R&B sensation The Weeknd links up with electronic producer Gesaffelstein for his My Dear Melancholy, EP. Of course, this isn’t the first time that he’s linked up with an electronic producer, having previously worked with Daft Punk on his last studio album, Starboy.

#8) Rae Sremmurd – “Powerglide” feat. Juicy J

The young rap duo dropped this infectious new mainstream rap hit featuring legendary producer Juicy J, one of the founding members of Three 6 Mafia.

#9) Kali Uchis – “After the Storm” feat. Tyler the Creator and Bootsy Collins

An interesting trio, Uchis brings together rapper Tyler the Creator and funk musician Bootsy Collins of Parliament-Funkadelic on this heat-seeking track from producer BADBADNOTGOOD.

#10) Rusko – “Emotional” feat. Anjulie

English dubstep producer Rusko returns with a brand new five-track EP from Circus Records. It also features guest appearances by Dangerous, Fraksure, and Simskai.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio