To Top

Watch: Parkway Drive unleash the fury in new video for single ‘Prey’

“We are all prey for the sorrow.”

Parkway Drive stirs up the pot for their sixth album Reverence, with new single+music video titled “Prey”.

As Australian metalcore rockers of Parkway Drive prepare for the launch of their upcoming album Reverence (issued to drop May 4 via Epitaph Records) they take fans by surprise with a newly-released third single “Prey,” along with the visuals.

The track is a follow-up to their debut single “Wishing Wells” and “The Void”, which presents the boys jamming out in a sound proof room as old-age pictures project around them one of which stands out as “The Creation of Adam”, a classic disguised painting created by Michelangelo which dates as far back as the 1500’s.

Sparks are seen falling from the ceiling as the ferocity turns up with rage, but director Neil Walter’s also gives off an artsy styled vintage-chic look to the overall turnout. This leads Parkway Drive into a more ‘calmer’ direction that what fans are used to seeing.

“Prey” is definitely more mellowed-out compared to earlier Parkway Drive favorites. It lacks the diverse rifts and rhythms, and the energy that they would normally bring to the table.

However some fans are taking interest in their new music route fondly, thinking it’s a suitable fit for the band.

The album is inspired by the tragedy that the group endured as they grieved over the loss of two loved ones, along with a string of other events resulting in calamity over the course of creating new content.

On talking about the topic in a press release, front-man Winston McCall said:

“We took stock of what we had and realized what actually mattered. What we went through was horrendous,” he explains

“I hope Reverence is the kind of album that redefines what people expect of us, in the sense that you can now expect the unexpected. This time around we’ve taken more risks, and I don’t think we’ve ever sounded more interesting.”

Additionally, Parkway Drive is currently on tour and will also jet to the U.K. this summer, performing alongside Avenged Sevenfold, Guns N’ Roses, and Ozzy Osbourne.

Tickets and updates for the tour can be found here.

Reverence can be pre-ordered here.

Keep up with music at Salute.

Reverence track listing:

01. Wishing Wells
02. Prey
03. Absolute Power
04. Cemetery Bloom
05. The Void
06. I Hope You Rot
07. Shadow Boxing
08. In Blood
09. Chronos
10. The Colour Of Leaving

Watch: Parkway Drive Prey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Audio