To Top

Selena Gomez, Ty Dolla $ign & NIN Lead New Music Round Up

It’s the most wonderful time of the, week. New music has been released!

Nine Inch Nails has graced listeners with their first single from Add Violence. Trent Reznor’s now iconic voice is a comfort for long time fans to hear the band is still making music. “Less Than” sounds faster than previous NIN songs.

The background beat is an upbeat, ’80s sounding thump that keeps a high energy throughout. For a moment it’s reminiscent of Placebo’s “Every Me and Every You,” and that is not an insult. Although, Reznor makes “Less Than” his own, and listeners will be thrilled as ever with this.

Up until 2015, Selena Gomez was considered another Disney starlet merely trying to cross over into a pop star sensation. She had put out two albums with catchy singles, but she hadn’t reached past her “Wizards of Waverly Place” fans. Once she released the song “Good For You” featuring A$AP Rocky, that all changed.

Gomez was then considered a sex symbol with her breathy vocals about needing to impress her man. She accomplishes the same thing on her later single “Fetish” featuring Gucci Mane; the song is extremely memorable. She’s officially shed her Disney spellbinding image and has reached a level of stardom that others thought she never would. Gomez is confident to the point it’s almost arrogant as she sings about a lover needing her and she kills it.

The king of features, Ty Dolla $ign has released his latest club banger “Love U Better” featuring Lil Wayne and The-Dream. This is Ty’s first single off of his highly anticipated new album Beach House 3.

It’s an in your face love anthem where the trio is letting a lucky lady know how much better they could love her than her current man. The combination of The Dream’s smooth voice with Lil Wayne’s raspy one and Ty Dolla $ign’s polished vocals make this single one of the best ones of the summer.

A new, laid back R&B track by Nav and Metro Boomin is perfect for house party pre-games. There’s a nice vulnerability to this song. And hearing a male singing about wishing his ex would call is as refreshing as ever.

It’s a good hybrid between Drake’s “Hotline Bling” and Chris Brown’s “Loyal” in beat. The ending with the dial tone makes the track dramatic. The dramatics are effective though, as it leaves the listener wanting to find out what happens next. It’s a good kick off single.

Meek Mill continues to stay in the spotlight for his feud with Drake. It’s no shock who he may or may not be referring to on his latest single “Issues.” Being involved in one of hip hops longest running feuds does offer plenty of ammo for multiple songs.

Also, now that Mill and Nikki Minaj are no longer together, he’s rapping about sleeping with countless famous women in his mansion. Not the most original concept since no one cares about the beef between he, Drake or Minaj anymore. The song isn’t bad, just nothing listeners haven’t heard before from an angry artist needing to vent.

Another catchy tune from the indie rock favorite Arcade Fire has come to light. It’s a cheery sound mixed with more heartbreaking lyrics about a breakup. It’s a confusing song as well. There’s something quite dark about a band that can make you want to dance and cry at the same time.

The beat is so entrancing that people won’t be able to help but love this. Once they take a listen to what’s going on behind the scenes it takes on a whole new meaning. The best songs are the ones that make a person think, and “Electric Blue” does just that.

Tyler, The Creator is back with his upcoming LP Flower Boy. And it’s his first one since 2015’s Cherry Bomb. The track kicks off slowly with the vocals of Rex Orange County, Anna of the North and Corinne Bailey Rae. Tyler doesn’t even hit the song until nearly two minutes into it. The song remains a quieter song than fans are used to hearing from the Odd Future leader.

The repeated bridge that claims “Boredom got a new best friend” is referencing Tyler’s angst from being lonely. It’s leaving room for Tyler to be exposed and it’s a nice change of pace.

Starting off in 2012, Waxahatchee came in strong with their debut album American Weekend. Since then, they’ve been a consistent indie contender releasing three more albums since then. Their newest effort Out of the Storm features a husky opening track “Never Been Wrong.” The female led band continues to rock on “Silver” and “Recite Remorse.” The latter slows into a ballad for the opening before jumping back into a faster paced memorable track. It’s worth a listen.

Stream Selena Gomez and others on Spotify’s New Music Playlist

More in Audio